Plenary Speakers

Dr Jeffery C Bricker

Senior Director of Research and Development

Dr Jeffery Bricker is the Senior Director of Research at UOP, which provides expertise and conducts research in the areas of New Materials, Catalysis, Advanced Characterization & Analytical, Membranes, Bio-Renewables, and Exploratory Platforms. He received a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Chemistry from Heidelberg University in 1979 and a Ph.D. in Chemistry from The Ohio State University in 1983.  Jeff joined UOP directly after graduate school and has worked at UOP for 34 years. He started at UOP as a catalyst scientist working in paraffin dehydrogenation, selective hydrogenations, natural gas utilization, and selective oxidation.  Jeff has held a variety of positions in Refining, Petrochemical, and Separations R&D and has had a key role in development of several UOP technologies and products. In his current role, he is accountable for UOP’s longer- range research programs and capabilities development. He has been awarded 61 U.S. patents. He is a member of the North American Catalysis Society and the American Chemical Society.  He has received a number of awards including the UOP Stine Star, the 2006 Honeywell Growth and Innovation Award , the 2008 Devon Meek Lecturer, the 2011 ACS National Award in Creative Invention, the 2015 Honeywell Distinguished Technologist Award, and  the 2017 Eugene J. Houdry Award in Applied Catalysis by the North American Catalysis Society.

Prof Johan A Martens

Centre for Surface Chemistry and Catalysis
University of Leuven

Johan A. Martens was born in Brussels, Belgium, on January 22, 1958. He is professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Leuven in Belgium. He is head of Catalysis Division and affiliated with the Centre for Surface Chemistry and Catalysis. Prof. Martens is renowned for design of zeolites, ordered mesoporous and hybrid organic-inorganic materials for catalysis, molecular separation and controlled release. His research spans a wide application rage including environmental protection, solar fuels, pharmaceutical formulation and food science and technology. Prof. Martens embodies innovation with over 100 patent applications and foundation of 3 spin off companies. He is recipient of Methusalem funding, the Highest level of structural funding by the Flemish Government granted to individuals in regard to proven excellence in research. Prof. Martens is an active member of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Sciences and the Arts.

Prof Xiulian Pan

Professor of the State Key Laboratory of Catalysis,
Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics,
Chinese Academy of Sciences

Prof Pan has been a Professor of the State Key Laboratory of Catalysis as the Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences since 2009. She completed her Postdoctor in Membrane and membrane catalysis at the Fraunhofer Institute of Interfacial Engineering and Biotechnology, Germany in 2003. Her PhD on Membrane and membrane catalysis was completed in 2001 at the Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and Franhofer Institute of Interfacial Engineering and Biotechnology, Germany

Prof Pan’s research interests are in synthesis and functionalization of nano-structured carbon (carbon nanotubes, graphene, porous carbon and SiC based composite); development of carbon-based metal-free catalysts; catalysis fundamentals over metal/carbon composites, particularly the confinement effects within limited space; and activation and conversion of small molecules such as CO, CO2, N2.

Prof Dr Ferdi Schüth

 Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung

He studied Chemistry and Law at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität (Münster). He received his doctorate in Chemistry in 1988 and passed the First State Exam in Law in 1989.  After 5 years as scientific assistant at the Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität (Mainz) he became Professor in Chemistry in 1995. From 1995 till 1998 he worked as Professor for Inorganic Chemistry at the Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe-Universität (Frankfurt). Since 1998 he is Director of the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung (Mülheim an der Ruhr) and since 2014 Vice-President of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft.

Ferdi Schüth received several awards, e.g. of the Stifterverband der Deutschen Wissenschaft, Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Award, Wöhler-Award, Hamburger Wissenschaft-Award and Friedrich-von-Weizsäcker-Award.

He is editor of “Chemistry of Materials”, member of numerous editorial boards and committees, e.g. Dechema Chairman of the selection committee of the German Future Award,  Professor h.c. at the Dalian University (China) and the University to Munich (Germany) and founder of the hte AG (BASF is main shareholder).

His research field comprises energy, biomass conversion, crystallization processes, synthesis of catalyst materials, catalysis, zeolites, ordered mesoporous materials and hydrogen storage materials.

Ferdi Schüth has about 430 publications, 50 plenary lectures, 230 contributions to conferences and approx. 35 patents or patent applications.

Prof Wataru Ueda

Department of Material and Life Chemistry, Faculty of Engineering,
Kanagawa University

Wataru Ueda is currently a Professor at Kanagawa University. He is also an emeritus professor of Hokkaido University. He gained a PhD from the Tokyo Institute of Technology in 1981 and following that worked as a research associate at the Utilization, Tokyo Institute of Technology Research Laboratories of Resources. In 1985-1987 he was a Ramsey memorial fellow at the Department of Physical Chemistry, Cambridge University and Royal Institution, UK, working with Prof. J. M. Thomas. In 1990 he had a lectureship in the Department of Environmental Chemistry and Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology and then in 1998 became Professor at the Department of Materials Chemistry and Engineering, Science University of Tokyo in Yamaguchi. In 2001 he became Professor at the Catalysis Research Center, Hokkaido University. In 2014 he became Professor at Department of Material and Life Chemistry, Faculty of Engineering, Kanagawa University and Visiting professor of Tokyo Institute of Technology and National Taiwan University.

Key Dates

Recent Research Report Submissions
Now Open

Recent Research Report Submissions Close
31 May 2019

Early Bird Registration extended until
30 April 2019